2019 Slate of Elders

 
2176.jpg

Matt Burgess

Family: Married to Tracy for 23 years. Together we have 2 sons in college, Cameron and Trevor. We also have 2-4 cats depending on whether you count the outdoor feral cats Tracy has adopted.

Hometown: We have lived in Mahomet for 18 years which is the longest I’ve lived anywhere, so I guess you could say it’s my hometown.

Education: Master of Arts in Community Mental Health Counseling from Seattle University, Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Wabash College

Hobbies: Watching soccer, growing vegetables, making homemade pickles and salsa.

Favorite food: Homemade macaroni & cheese

Favorite Sports Teams: Miami Red Hawks & Tennessee Volunteers; Seattle Sounders (MLS soccer); Chelsea (English Premier League soccer)

Favorite band: Dire Straits – or maybe Billy Idol

Favorite TV show growing up: Mork & Mindy

How have you served in ministry?: Men’s Group leader, Guest Team leader, Urbana Launch team, Fall Family Fair and anywhere Tracy tells me to help out. 

Keith Ewerks

Family: Married to Krista for 26 years. Together we have 3 children Kalynne (23), Kourtney (20), and Karson (16).  

Hometown: Sheldon, Il

Education: Associates in Applied Science from Parkland College

Hobbies: Yard Work, Woodworking, Antiquing with Krista, and watching my kids activities

Favorite Food: Italian

Favorite Sports Teams: Unity Rockets and Chicago Cubs

Favorite Band: Garth Brooks

Favorite TV Show Growing Up: Andy Griffith Show

How have you served in Ministry?: Communion, Communion Prep, High School food team, nursery volunteer, led a team in the installation of the playground and served as an Elder

 

 

1949.jpg

Jeff Graham

Family: Married to Karen since 1977. Together we have 2 daughters, Melissa and Erin, and granddaughter Brynn

Hometown: Champaign, IL

Education: College of DuPage

Hobbies: Dancing with Karen, Golf

Favorite Food: Biscuits and Gravy

Favorite Sports Teams: Chicago White Sox, Illni

Favorite Band: Journey

Favorite TV show/movie growing up: Ironside

One Fact people don't know about me: I ran the Chicago Marathon in 1985 and I’m a certified SCUBA diver

How have you served in ministry?: I’ve served as an elder for the past 17 years, a group leader for a men’s group, and wherever else needed.

 

Rich Hissong

Family: Deb and I have been married for 38 years. We have 2 adult sons, Danny and Brian as well as 4 granddaughters and 1 grandson.

Hometown: St. Joseph, IL

Education: Associate degree from Danville Area Community College in Landscape Horticulture.

Hobbies: Woodworking

Favorite Food: Anything I make from my meat smoker.

Favorite sports team: St. Louis Cardinals

Favorite Band: Jonny Lang

Favorite TV growing up. Wild Kingdom

Service: Urbana Launch Team, Urbana Facilities Team leader, a church bus driver, lead the Small Projects team, help build whatever is needed at church. When time allows I fill in on the Creative Arts tech team.

 

1956.jpg

Mike Larson

Family: Married to Lori Ann for 22 years (we've known each other for over 30). Our kids are William and Grace. We also have a dog named Sophie.

Hometown: Urbana, IL

Education: I went to Urbana High School, then after that gained a B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering, and an MBA from University of Illinois.

Hobbies: When I have time, I enjoy tinkering with all things mechanical, golf, snorkeling and SCUBA diving

Favorite Sports Teams: Fighting Illini

Favorite Band: Several including U2, Casting Crowns, and The Police

Favorite TV show growing up: The Simpsons

Crazy fad you went through: Long hair in high school, turned into a “rat-tail” when the rest was cut short.

One fact people don’t know about you: My first job out of college was as a forensic engineering, investigating automobile and heavy truck accidents. I was a “CSI” for vehicle accidents before it was a hit show. I also have a CDL as a result of that job.

How have you served in ministry?: I have attended FIRST since college over 20 years ago. In that time I have helped with Elementary Kids' Ministry (leading Sunday school class with Lori), Junior High Ministry (helping out at events), High School Ministry (serving food on Sunday nights), and properties ministry. I also had the opportunity to go on a mission trip to the Dominican Republic this last summer.

 

45616108_10217140641325621_6338051674992541696_o.jpg

Mike Prince

Family –Married to Dorinda for 36 years, I have a daughter Danielle (32) and a son Jared (29) We are proudly PET FREE so Dorinda can devote more of her time to caring for me.

Hometown: Charleston, Illinois born there and moved back there during high school

Education: Charleston High School

Hobbies: Love to cook, grill, like to play sports when possible (getting less possible), love to play cards, games

Favorite food: Hard to beat enormous juicy bacon wrapped chicken breast off the grill, only BLUE BUNNY vanilla bean ice cream is a match for that.

Favorite sports teams: Only team I pay much attn. to is Vikings because my father and I did, Quit watching baseball when Bob Gibson retired (I mean why bother)

Favorite band: Not really a band but growing up Elvis, Barbara Mandrel now listen lots of artists but Needtobreathe is one of my favorites.

Favorite TV show growing up: Ed Sullivan (all variety shows) loved MASH!

How have you served in ministry? In the past I have taught kids sunday school, served on the Creative Arts team, was an elder, and was on the Urbana Launch team. I am currently a Group leader, actively a part of the Creative Arts, Guest Services, and Facilities teams in Urbana... and yes Dorinda still has to take care of me.

IMG_8860.jpg

Rich Reynolds

Family: Married to Kathy since 1995

Service: Volunteers with Creative Arts Tech team and has served aas an elder serveral times in the pas

Favorite sports teams: Indiana Hoosiers, Los Angeles Dodgers, Pittsburgh Steelers.

Favorite music/bands: 60’s oldies and 70’s, and 80’s rock/metal... the Beatles and Led Zeppelin

 

 

1948.jpg

Scott Trumbull

Family: Married to Stacy since 1984. We have Ben (who is married to Sarah and has our grandchildren Max and Aliza) and Jenna (who is married to Nathan. We also have 2 cats.

Hometown: St. Joseph, IL

Education: Bachelors from Illinois State University

Hobbies: Wood working, auto repair

Favorite Sports Teams: Illini, St. Louis Cardinals

One fact people likely don't know about you: Deb Orr (FIRST's Librarian) is my sister.

How have you served in ministry?: I served as an elder at FIRST in 2015. Outside of that, I volunteer as a greeter on Sunday mornings with the Welcome Team.